Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIV Supra

Old 06-18-2010, 04:58 AM   #1
crazyasianr6
Stock

crazyasianr6 is on a distinguished road
Default need advice building a supra-parts

i have just purchased a 95 supra non turbo. it is completely stock except for an apexi exhaust. its had 1 owner and has 100k miles. its a manual. i have basic knowledge on parts. but i want to start off by turning the car up to 400-500 hp like quickly. would it be easier to replace teh engine with a 2jz-gte? or keep the 2jz-ge and put a t61 turbo kit. and obviously there are other parts. what parts do i need to obtain atleast 500hp with about $5k for upgrade money.
crazyasianr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 01:14 AM   #2
pwpanas
Supra Owner

pwpanas is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyasianr6 View Post
i have just purchased a 95 supra non turbo. it is completely stock except for an apexi exhaust. its had 1 owner and has 100k miles. its a manual. i have basic knowledge on parts. but i want to start off by turning the car up to 400-500 hp like quickly. would it be easier to replace teh engine with a 2jz-gte? or keep the 2jz-ge and put a t61 turbo kit. and obviously there are other parts. what parts do i need to obtain atleast 500hp with about $5k for upgrade money.
It would be better to sell the n/a and get a TT. Brakes, suspension, ignition, etc., etc. bites on the n/a. If you want a turbo mkiv with 500hp, then get a TT to begin with. An n/a with a turbo is not an equivalent GT sportscar to a TT.

If you must stay with the n/a, it's probably easier (not necessarily cheaper) to swap the engine with a 2jz-gte. That said, a 2jz-gte makes 320hp (400hp bpu'd) - not 500hp.