Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIII Supra

Old 10-19-2010, 06:25 AM   #1
Grandavi
walbro fp

Grandavi is on a distinguished road

I dont think it has anything to do with the compression really..

The engine is only capable of doing so much by itself.. if you understand how a turbo works (I will use the way I 'splained it to my kids) the turbo is like taking your girlfriend and giving her a straw... then putting a milkshake in front of her. Time how long it takes her to suck up one strawful of milkshake (no.. not sexual thoughts here..)

Then.. fill the straw with milkshake and blow it into her mouth as hard as you can. Thats.. boost.

A NA engine is sucking air.. while a turbo has the benefit of a pump pushing the air. Makes one helluva difference. You aren't going to defy physics by wishing it was different.

Remember.. I am not a mechanic.. but a NA (naturally aspirated engine) is forced to suck its air/fuel mixture. A turbo is beautiful because the exhaust will spin a tubine which pushes it in. Superchargers use the crank (unless they changed it) so they actually cost HP to run.. (if I remember correctly a 350 HP supercharger can use 50HP just to push the air)

Its probably far more complex.. but the engine does have its limitations.. and 300 HP is far past that if I understand its engineering. It just simply cant be done "normally" without possibly pumping 1000's and 1000's of dollars into it. So... its better that you take the NA and sell it for whatever you can get for it and put a 7MGTE into it (or a 1JZ) Your farther ahead and will save yourself a massive amount of headache..

of course.. this is an opinion from a guy sitting behind a computer.. not over top of an engine bay.

Last edited by Grandavi; 10-19-2010 at 06:30 AM.
Grandavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 06:33 AM   #2
zby67
3" Exhaust