Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIII Supra

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2012, 02:26 AM   #1
Boosted87Supra
Stock
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2
Boosted87Supra is on a distinguished road
Question Another Oil Pressure Gauge Thread, but not what you'd think

ALREADY SEARCHED

So I've had my '87 Supra for a few months now and the oil pressure gauge has never functioned. I've searched many a forum, but haven't managed to find anyone with quite the same symptoms as me. A little back ground, before I bought the car the HG was replaced w/ an HKS metal and ARP studs were installed. No problems there, though the speedo cable was damaged, I replaced it, though the OP gauge didn't work, even before I pulled the cluster.

What I've done:
  • Installed new USDM style oil pressure sensor (as the engine is still the factory 7MGTE)
  • Checked the wire leading to the switch, found it to be chaffed. Performed a wire repair.
After the sensor was replaced the gauge acted like it wanted to read, not showing 4-6 psi at idle, but the needle was not resting on the bump stop. Though as soon as I went to go drive the car it quit reading again.


After fixing the wiring issue the same thing as what happened after the sensor replacement occurred.


So the gauge isn't completely dead, but if you mess with any of its inputs under the hood it will act like it is going to work for a bit, but then doesn't.


Any ideas?


Thanks guys
Boosted87Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 06:09 AM   #2
cre

Toyota
Racing
Development
 
cre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,038
cre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Are you sure the gauge is USDM? The wiring runs from the sensor to both the gauge and the ECU, check the wiring to the ECU. You might also try disconnecting the wire to the ECU in order to rule out a fault in the ECU.
__________________
If something breaks or you need to contact a member of the administration please post HERE. Unless it's a private or administration matter please post it on the forum. It benefits no one else if car related questions aren't posted for future users and takes away from the time I'm able to spend helping on the rest of the forum.

If you're so inclined I'm always more than happy to accept tips via PayPal.
Tip Jar --->
cre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 02:34 PM   #3
Boosted87Supra
Stock
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2
Boosted87Supra is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb

  1. Cluster should be USDM, is there a part/serial # I can check to be sure?
  2. So the wire goes from the sensor to the ECU/PCM and the gauge...interesting. So do you know what pin on the PCM connector it is? Also how does it go to both, i.e. is it one wire from the sensor that splices/splits somewhere in the engine bay? Or is the splice somewhere under the dash?
Thanks
Boosted87Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:36 AM   #4
cre

Toyota
Racing
Development
 
cre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,038
cre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond repute
Default

The guage for North American models will be one of the following part numbers: '86.5 to '88 83246-14690 or 83246-14790; '89+ 83246-14890 or 83246-14870 These should all interchange without issue.

The oil pressure signal branches at connector M1. See the here. I don't have a pre89 TEWD handy for reference and I'm not finding it in my MAFT Pro wiring diagrams I made for the pre89 7M-GTE... So it's possible it's mislabeled, one of the unidentified pins or that the pre89 GTE didn't use use that signal. Look for a yellow wire with a black stripe on the ECU's connectors.
__________________
If something breaks or you need to contact a member of the administration please post HERE. Unless it's a private or administration matter please post it on the forum. It benefits no one else if car related questions aren't posted for future users and takes away from the time I'm able to spend helping on the rest of the forum.

If you're so inclined I'm always more than happy to accept tips via PayPal.
Tip Jar --->
cre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
7mgte, electrical, intermittent, oil pressure gauge, wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dipstick tube & oil pressure gauge help icey756 MKIII Supra 9 08-26-2011 06:58 AM
Stock Oil Pressure Gauge 907mge MKIII Supra 4 05-14-2010 06:13 AM
Oil Pressure Gauge mkiiisupra MKIII Supra 0 01-14-2008 02:08 AM
Oil Pressure Gauge Drag0na5h MKIII Supra 5 03-22-2006 07:25 AM
oil pressure gauge problem.... SCRAMJET MKIII Supra 0 03-21-2006 06:33 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

1986



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87