Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIII Supra

Old 11-23-2012, 10:46 PM   #1
ItsOthatOguy
Stock

ItsOthatOguy is on a distinguished road
Default 87 turbo

Hey guys. I'm new to the whole forums deal, so be kind. I just bought a 1987 supra turbo and am having some problems. When I got the car it ran fine, but after driving it, it started to cut out. The only way I fixed it was to jump off the fuel pump before I started the car. Now it won't start at all. I tried switching out relays and that didn't work, priming the pump didnt work either. I know it's getting spark because when it did run, it was a smooth run. I don't know what else to do. Any suggestions?
ItsOthatOguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 11:01 PM   #2
interested!
3" Exhaust

interested! is on a distinguished road
Question 87 turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsOthatOguy View Post
Hey guys. I'm new to the whole forums deal, so be kind. I just bought a 1987 supra turbo and am having some problems. When I got the car it ran fine, but after driving it, it started to cut out. The only way I fixed it was to jump off the fuel pump before I started the car. Now it won't start at all. I tried switching out relays and that didn't work, priming the pump didnt work either. I know it's getting spark because when it did run, it was a smooth run. I don't know what else to do. Any suggestions?
Hi! You have not said how much fuel there is in the tank ,always best to make sure there are at LEAST 3 gallons in there , Never try and restart with only a gallon .These engines only do about 19 / 20 miles to the gallon around town , so you may be empty . ( one suggestion! ) .

Last edited by interested!; 11-23-2012 at 11:05 PM.
interested! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 11:10 PM   #3
tingboy
Stock

tingboy is on a distinguished road

Quote: