Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIII Supra

Old 09-22-2012, 04:52 PM   #11
nick124
Stock

nick124 is on a distinguished road

Coolant in the oil is obviously a problem. I tried to explain where it is mixing but I guess I didn't make myself clear. $700 also includes the timing belt job. I do my own work usually but I am new to the Supra and I don't have tools for the timing belt anyway.

I'm bringing it in on Tuesday. I'll let you know if it is still mixing after.
nick124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 07:22 PM   #12
cre

Toyota
Racing
Development

cre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond repute

I was responding primarily to statement:

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick124 View Post
After further review, it is still likely that the HG failed, but after discovering where exactly the leak is, I think that after the leak is fixed, I will be good to go. I'll explain further...

When the HG goes, as I'm sure you all know, the coolant will mix with the oil (current problem with my car), but the oil will also mix with the coolant causing the overflow cap to pop off and various other signs of oil mixed in with the coolant stream. This is not the case with my car. There are no chunks of oil in the rad or overflow or any other signs of oil.