Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIII Supra

Old 02-09-2011, 06:05 PM   #1
MADMKIII
Stock

MADMKIII is on a distinguished road
Default Keep stock ic or go fmic

HI newbie here i have a 87 7MGTE R154, i wanted to know how good is the stock ic and if its worth the 400 bucks to upgrade??? only looking to get about 300-340

current mods:
hks mhg
arp studs
forged valves
3' hks exhaust
hks BOV
apex-i avcr (currently not installed)

any other mods that will help me reach my goal??
MADMKIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 08:48 PM   #2
cre

Toyota
Racing
Development

cre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond repute

FMIC = Front Mount InterCooler.... The stock IC is a FMIC. Now, as for upgrading it.... cooler air will always net you more power per every unit of air/fuel mixture. If you're running the stock turbo or don't plan on running one much bigger then a larger intercooler is a must in my book.

Other upgrades I would recommend a higher volume fuel pump and a fuel controller. If you're keeping it in the mid 3xx's the stock injectors will probably be fine but definitely send them out for cleaning and blueprinting... An adjustable fuel pressure regulator can help you ensure you're not running the injectors past 80% d.c. and help ensure a nice clean spray pattern.