Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIII Supra

Old 04-15-2010, 03:28 PM   #1
joshtexican
3" Exhaust

joshtexican is on a distinguished road
Default Use 7mgte block as a 7mge??

I have a fully built 91 7mgte block with Probe forged pistons bored .20, eagle rods and arp supporting hardware. I am purchasing a non-turbo 86.5 supra that has a rod knock. I was wondering if I can just use the block I have and use it in the 86.5, using my redone 7mgte head and built block. I am new to this and do not know much about these motors.
joshtexican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 03:31 PM   #2
BDRT103
Stock

BDRT103 is on a distinguished road

is the 7mge and the 7mgte the same internally other than the oil squirters? and could i run the stock turbo set up on my stock 7mge?
BDRT103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 04:55 PM   #3
reydio
Intake

reydio is on a distinguished road

Yes, you can. You will need to swap the ECU and Engine harness. I think the 91's have more sensors than the pre-89's. Also, you need to transfer other items from the turbo car to the GE car, i.e. igniter, boost sensor, turbo fan clutch assy, etc.

I'm assuming the 86.5 has a better body condition than the 91.
reydio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 06:53 PM   #4
joshtexican
3" Exhaust

Well the 91 7mgte is just the motor and head. I do have the ecu and harness to it as well and a few other parts. I was trying to see if it was possible just to swap the block and head itself?? And if everything from 86.5 7mge will bolt up to the 91 block and head?
Old 04-16-2010, 05:02 AM   #5
cre

Toyota
Racing
Development