Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIII Supra > MKIII FAQ

Old 06-05-2010, 02:02 AM   #11
joshtexican
3" Exhaust

joshtexican is on a distinguished road

Another thing, I put the head on. I tried to see if the nut and the socket I am using will fit the tunnel/hole where the studs are.

Do I have to have the cams off the head to do this job? I am new to this and am having a bit of trouble getting the nut to turn with the socket.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Put head(w/o cams) in line with studs??
Torque the head down(w/o cams)??
Then put cams back on??
joshtexican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 02:50 AM   #12
cre

Toyota
Racing
Development

cre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond repute

I installed mine with a regular socket with a wobble end extension... If you don't already have a GOOD one go buy a Craftsman socket just for this one job... having to dig out the dust from a cheap socket which exploded while torquing down using a cotton swab sucks.

EDIT: I didn't have to pull my cams, just rotate them a few times to get things out of the way.
If something breaks or you need to contact a member of the administration please post HERE. Unless it's a private or administration matter please post it on the forum. It benefits no one else if car related questions aren't posted for future users and takes away from the time I'm able to spend helping on the rest of the forum.

If you're so inclined I'm always more than happy to accept tips via PayPal.
Tip Jar --->
cre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 03:01 AM   #13
joshtexican
3" Exhaust