Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > General Discussions > Non-Generation Specific Questions

Old 07-28-2006, 07:48 AM   #1
nick_83
Stock

nick_83 is on a distinguished road
Default need some help

Hey im a newbie, looking at buying a supra something 93 onwards, just want to know all the do's and dont's what models are the goods and what to expect with these cars.
nick_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 05:32 PM   #2
SupraSaver87
3" Exhaust

SupraSaver87 is on a distinguished road
Default Well......

If you want a 93, I presume you mean an MKIV. If you want a late model supra, then you have made a great choice. However EVERY supra model is a great choice, each with their own set of pro's and con's.

MKIII(Third Gen)

Pro's/Con's

-235HP 7M-GTE engine - This engine is really nice. It is from the turbo model, and is a workhorse of an engine. It is prone to blown head gaskets if they are not installed correctly. You can remedy the problem with a professionally installed metal head gasket, however you need to machine the heads, and block for a PERFECT seal...otherwise you will just have created a bigger headache for yourself (Leaking, blowing, powerloss, fluid exchange, damage to cylinder walls, coolant leaks....etc). I have noticed that in my cars their cruise both went at aproximatly the same time...may be another cronic problem...but keep in mind, these cars are around 20 years old.

-LSD(Limited Slip Differential) - Well this is really nice, I believe it is a 1.5 LSD, it works, but still allows for slipping. I have not found problems with this yet. I don't hear alot of complaints about them either...so I think they hold up well, and work for you as long as you keep good care of it.