Home / Toyota Supra Forums

Go Back   Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! > Performance, Modification, and Maintenance Forums - for generation specific discussions > MKIII Supra

Old 12-25-2010, 04:38 AM   #1
twd420
3" Exhaust

twd420 is on a distinguished road
Default couple BHG q's

im a total newb to the BHG and just need to ask these to get my supra back on the road.

how necessary is it to machine the block and head when doing the HG repair?

when disconnecting the turbo piping to the air box i noticed the port was stained in what i think is oil. any insight to what that might be?

how do i check if there is any shaft play in the turbo, since thats one thing ive seen on here alot.

and is there any true benefits for 7mge cams into a 7mgte engine? i can get n/a cams for 75$, i only thought about using them since a couple lobes have rust spots on em.

any insight and help would be great, thnks
twd420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 08:58 AM   #2
cre

Toyota
Racing
Development

cre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond reputecre has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by twd420 View Post
how necessary is it to machine the block and head when doing the HG repair?
Depends on your goals. If you're keeping it all stock then follow the TSRM to the T and make sure there is NO significant pitting in the block... at this age you should get the head shaved regardless. Get the valve stem seals replaces and get the head vacuum tested and UV inspected while it's at the shop. Then use a regular Toyota HG.