Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum!

Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/)
-   MKIII Supra (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/mkiii-supra/)
-   -   Still overheating ?1100 later! (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/mkiii-supra/80-still-overheating-1100-later.html)

the dog 10-14-2004 01:59 PM

Im having an absolute nightmare trying to repair my supra 1991. The car was overheating and after changing the head gasket, the thermostat and a cooked piston it is still overheating! Im not a mechanic so I dont know but they are saying that the block must be cracked! Which is fantastic after paying out all the money for the HEAD! The only thing not been changed is the Water Pump but they are adamant that is not the problem. Can anyone help please Im at my wits and financial end with it!! :blink:

THANKS

Rollin mk3 10-14-2004 11:37 PM

Hi, I m sorry to hear that. You know that overheating can be caused by numerous things.
-faulty water pump
-low oil or no oil
-low coolant or old coolant
-bad hoses
-non operating radiator fan
-non working a/c fan (if you use a/c)
The list can go on for a while... My best advise for you is learn about your car, learn about engines, and maybe find a mechanic that you can be friends with!

suprra_girl 10-15-2004 10:14 AM

hey :) welcome to the boards

real bummer on ur engine.. know how you feel... been thru a few things like this too

check to make sure that your clutch fan is working properly... while the car is off spin the fan clockwise... if it turns real easy and does say a full revolution without any resistance i suggest you get another cupling for the fan.. also if the fan has a bit of play in it could also mean the cupling is going

what degree thermostat have you got in it?
what went wrong with the piston?
did you get a toyota head gasket?
what was the head gasket torqued to?
when the car was first run was the heater put on full blat till it warmed up?