Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum!

Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/)
-   MKIII Supra (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/mkiii-supra/)
-   -   Lexus afm (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/mkiii-supra/20487-lexus-afm.html)

realdeal 04-25-2012 01:44 AM

Lexus afm

Has anyone installed the Lexus afm and custom air screw on the 7mgte? I am wondering how much the air screw needs to be screwed in? How much of the gap should there be? I have been running this mod for a few years now with no problems. This year I did a tune up and now I have boost cut. I lowered the boost and it is still happening, but only on wide open throttle. I am running stock injector and stock turbo, and thought maybe it's running too lean, so I screwed in air screw in all the way but isn't fix the problem. Now my check engine light comes on, but only at an idle. It goes away after the rpms pick up. Did I screw it in too much? Is it too rich now??? I read that with the Lexus afm you need to get the longer air screw and larger injectors. Can anyone offer me some insight?

cre 04-25-2012 02:23 AM

It needs to be tuned with a wideband. I recommend against it as your sole tuning option. Ditch it, get a real fuel controller and get it properly tuned.

You can NOT use the Lex AFM housing with stock injectors. See the FAQ about it please: http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/...lexus-afm.html

realdeal 04-25-2012 04:24 AM

So if I get a wideband or some other means to tuning, do I still need to get 550 injectors. Or can the stock ones? Will they allow enough fuel in?

cre 04-25-2012 07:04 AM

You still need some means of supplying 25% MORE fuel. I thought I covered that in that FAQ thread... I guess I'll have to go back over it.

Green7mgte 04-25-2012 12:40 PM

ok. *cracks fingers*
Basically..
you're talking about two different beasts.. piggy back and stand alone.