Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum!

Toyota Supra Forums! Join the Supra forum! (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/)
-   MKIII Supra (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/mkiii-supra/)
-   -   start up fail help!!!! (http://www.toyota-supra.info/forums/mkiii-supra/18813-start-up-fail-help.html)

El_supracabra 03-16-2011 04:55 AM

start up fail help!!!!

86.5 mk3 New/rebuilt engine is now installed, I triple checked all of my wiring and vacuum connections (per diagrams), filled it up with coolant and oil and attempted to start the engine.

GRRIINNNDDDD!!!!! *click* grriiiinndddd *click* it wont even turn over..
The compression ratio is about 10.5:1 with the milled head, MLS gasket, and decked block.

EEeeekkkkk!!! wtf?! I am a VERY meticulous mechanic. I do EVERYTHING by the book. I dont take shortcuts and I am a perfectionist. However, i do make mistakes....occasionally. ;-)

I had installed an aftermarket lightweight chrome-moly flywheel. The starter itself is only about 6 months old and worked fine before the rebuild. The battery is brand new and I also had it tested after it failed to start (hoping it was a "weak battery". no such luck.) battery tested perfect. I had also checked the nose gear to make sure that it would properly engage the teeth before i dropped the engine in. (although i couldnt bolt it up to the tranny, i pushed it into the mounting flange and pulled the gear out w a pair of channel locks to make sure the teeth would engage) It all seems good. Is there ANY other possible solutions? too high compression? Battery ground location? triple checked timing.... please help!

OH does anyone know EXACTLY where the battery ground is supposed to bolt up? *previous mechanic had it stacked on top of like 3 other ground on the plenum. didnt seem right..... THANK YOU!

Sonyps307 03-16-2011 03:33 PM

The big ground wire that comes off the battery bolts to the side of the motor.

El_supracabra 03-16-2011 05:05 PM