View Single Post
Old 07-31-2010, 04:12 AM   #7
btwilson86
Super Moderator

btwilson86 is on a distinguished road

Whew, never thought that trying to find a decent comparison of wire construction would be so difficult...

I did find some halfway decent info about some ACCEL wires from their website, but most of their wires are all spiral-wound construction and don't differ much, if any. I did read on a couple of forums that the "Ohm resistance check" for plug wires doesn't have any real world use. This is supposedly because the voltage during this test is using 1 Volt Direct Current (DC), and DC voltage finds the path with least resistance traveling through the wire. Apparently ignition systems produce Alternating Current (AC) from the coil, and AC current travels around the wire instead of through it. Therefore lower resistance through the wire doesn't matter as much as a lower resistance on the outermost wire. Keep in mind I'm not an electrician, so I'm not sure how true that statement is. In any case, still haven't found any wires, so I'm still working on that part...

I may have found a coil, thinking of using the ACCEL Ultra Coil by Jacobs, found here. It seems most aftermarket ignition coils run in about the 40,000 volt range, and this one's rated at 55,000 volts. Anyone have an idea of what the factory coil's output voltage is rated at? I'd like to have something to compare to while looking up coils...

And if I didn't state earlier I'll be using Genuine Toyota cap and rotor.

As for the plugs, I'll experiment around with NGK's, starting with the factory resistor plugs. I'll probably play with heat ranges and composition (platinum, double platinum). May even try the E3's, although I'm not sure how the engine would like little flamethrowers in the combustion chamber (especially with higher voltage and current).